Developing Northern Australia Conference

18-19 June 2018

The Developing Northern Australia Conference will be held at Alice Springs Convention Centre on Monday 18 and Tuesday 19 June 2018.  This annual conference is now in its 4th year and continues to be a meeting place for those individuals, companies and government entities that are vested in progressing Northern Australia.

The conference provides a platform for networking and connecting with like-minded contributors to share the opportunities, challenges and outcomes for growing Northern Australia.  We invite you to be part of this conversation on the importance of a connected North and ways to move forward in telecommunications, energy, liveability, population and engaging investment and  attracting business.

Confirmed Featured Speakers

  • Mr Nigel Browne, CEO, Larrakia Development Corp
  • Mr Mark Cully, Chief Economist, Office of the Chief Economist, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science, Australian Government
  • Mr Mark Bennett, Head of Agribusiness and Emerging Corporate, Regional Australia, ANZ
  • Dr Stephanie Fahey, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Trade & Investment Commission (Austrade)
  • Mr Troy Setter, CEO, Consolidated Pastoral Company (CPC)
  • Hon Michael Gunner, Chief Minister, Northern Territory Government
  • Mr Matt Canavan, Minister for Natural Resources and Northern Australia, Australian Government (pre recorded message)
  • Professor Simon Maddocks, Vice Chancellor, Charles Darwin University
  • Ms Marie Piccone, CEO, Manbulloo Mangoes
  • Dr Beth Woods, Director-General, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries (DAF) Queensland

Invited Featured Speakers

  • Hon Alannah MacTiernan, Minister for Regional Development; Agriculture and Food; Minister assisting the Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade, Western Australian Government
  • Ms Melissa Vernon, Executive Director – Innovation & Development, WA Country Health Service

Conference Program Schedule 2018

Pre-Conference Tour Explore Alice Springs Bicycle Tour: 3.00 – 6.30pm  (additional cost)

Charles Darwin University’s PreConference BBQ Dinner : 5.00 – 9.30pm  (additional cost)

Conference Day 1:

8.30 – 9.00am                    Conference Opening Session & Speed Networking Session
9.00-10.30am                     Keynote Session
10.30-11.00am                   Morning Tea
11.00 – 12.30pm               Concurrent Sessions
12.30 – 1.30pm                 Lunch
1.30 – 3.00pm                    Concurrent Sessions
3.00 – 3.30pm                    Afternoon Tea
3.30 – 5.00pm                    Concurrent Sessions
5.00 – 6.30                          Networking Function

Conference Day 2:

9.00 – 10.30am                  Keynote Session
10.30 – 11.00pm               Morning Tea
11.00 – 12.30pm               Concurrent Sessions
12.30 – 1.30pm                 Lunch
1.30 – 3.00pm                    Concurrent Sessions
3.00 – 3.30pm                    Afternoon Tea
3.30 – 5.00pm                    Keynote Session & Conference Closing

Post-Conference Tours (additional cost)
1 Day Explore Uluru: 5.00am – 12.00am
3 Day Explore Uluru: 5.00am Wednesday 20 June – 6.00pm Friday 22 June

Find out more

Topics 2018

  • Trade and Investment
  • Land and Water
  • Connecting Northern Australia
  • Attracting Business and Population
  • Governance and the Next Generation of Northern Australian Policy
  • Indigenous-led Development
  • Food and Agribusiness
  • Engaging Industry Sectors
  • Small Business and New Opportunities
  • Northern Australia Liveability

Platinum Partner

ntg-sponsored-cmyk EPS


Delegate Information

Who’s attending?

Federal Government inter-agency representatives
State Government representatives from QLD, WA and NT
Local Government representatives including CEO, General Managers, Mayors and Elected Officials
Economic and Community Development Managers and Groups
Sustainability and Environment Groups
Organisations representing indigenous affairs
Town Planners, Architects, Builders, Project Managers and Engineers
Chamber of Commerce, RDA and Economic Development Groups
Banking, Finance and others interested in Economic Development
Academics and Researchers, Education Bodies with representation in Northern Australia
Local Business Owners and Managers
Resource Sector, Tourism Operators and Agricultural bodies
Northern Australia Special Interest Groups


SAVE $100

Members of the Association for Sustainability in Business receive $100 off full registration.

What’s included?

• 2-Day Conference Program
• 9 Keynote Presentations
• Over 90 concurrent presentations
• Conference Exhibition
• Gold Catering Package (morning tea, lunch & afternoon tea)
• Exclusive Networking Function (Monday night)
• Speed Networking/Business Card Exchange Session (Monday morning)
• Conference Handbook
• Book of Abstracts (online)
• Presenter Podcast of Each Conference Presentation
• PowerPoint Slides of Each Conference Presentation
• Conference App
• Free Membership to the Association of Sustainability in Business
• CPD Points
• Certificate of Attendance
• Special Accommodation Rates
• Exposure for your Company
• BONUS: Chance to win great prizes including a Conference Registration for DNA 2019
ASB Logo
Developing Northern Australia Conference in Alice Springs, 18-19 June 2018

2017 Conference Highlights

Mr Joe Morrison, CEO, Northern Land Council
Northern Development: An Indigenous paradigm

Mr Andrew Dickson, Director, Office of Northern Australia
The government’s role in driving growth and investment in northern Australia


Ms Sheriden Morris, Chair, Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) for Developing Northern Australia
The fundamental importance of collaboration in developing Northern Australia


Ms Tracey Hayes, CEO, Northern Territory Cattlemen’s Association
Beef plan north: Foundation-fabric-future



Our 2018 Conference Partners

ntg-sponsored-cmyk EPS







Our 2017 Conference Partners