Confirmed Featured Speakers

Mr Mark Cully, Chief Economist, Office of the Chief Economist, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science, Australian Government

Mark Cully is Chief Economist for the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

Mark has a first-class Honours degree in Economics from the University of Adelaide. From 1992-95 he was a British Council Commonwealth Scholar at the University of Warwick obtaining a Master of Arts in Industrial Relations, while working at the Warwick Business School.

He has had a varied career in applied economic research at the intersection of government and academia.

In 1995 he was appointed head of research on employment relations for the UK Government, where he ran what was the world’s largest survey of working life. He returned to Australia in 1999 as Deputy Director of the National Institute of Labour Studies, and was then General Manager at the National Centre for Vocational Education Research for six years, running its statistical then research operations.

In 2009 he was appointed inaugural Chief Economist at the Department of Immigration and Citizenship and in that role chaired the OECD’s Working Party on Migration. He is a member of the CEDA Council on Economic Policy.

Dr Stephanie Fahey, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Trade & Investment Commission (Austrade)

Dr Stephanie Fahey is the Chief Executive Officer of Austrade, the Australian Government agency responsible for promoting trade, investment and international education, and tourism policy, programs and research.

Stephanie has over 30 years’ experience both as an academic and executive working in Australia and overseas.

Previously she was EY’s lead partner for education in the Oceania region, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Global Engagement) at Monash University and Director of the University of Sydney’s Research Institute for Asia and the Pacific. Dr Fahey brings an international perspective to her work and a wealth of experience across business and academia.

Austrade’s first female chief executive, Dr Fahey has also served on the Australia China Business Council, the Australia China Council, the NSW International Education Advisory Board, the European Australian Business Council, the Board of Canberra Institute of Technology, the Foreign Affairs Council and the Australia Korean Foundation.

Stephanie holds a PhD from the Australian National University and BA (Hons) from the University of Sydney. She speaks Melanesian Pidgin. She was inducted as a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in 2012.

Mr Troy Setter, CEO, Consolidated Pastoral Company (CPC)

Troy is one of the top agribusiness leaders in Australia and well-renowned for his achievements across the industry. CPC is Australia’s largest private beef producer with 400,000 head of cattle run on a portfolio of 16 stations across Australia’s three Northern States.

CPC’s stations are vertically integrated with its two joint venture feedlots in Indonesia. Throughout his career Troy has been responsible for all aspects of the supply chain; from cereal and fibre cropping, grain and grass fed cattle operations, domestic and international logistics, trading and shipping through to genetic improvement, beef and cattle marketing, broad strategy development, investment and finance.

Along with having a degree in Rural Science from University of New England, he has also completed the Agribusiness program at Harvard Business School, The Australian Rural Leadership Program and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Troy also sits on the Board of the Australian Livestock Exporters’ Council.

Professor Simon Maddocks, Vice Chancellor, Charles Darwin University

Professor Maddocks has held the position of Vice-Chancellor and President of Charles Darwin University since March 2014. He brought to the position extensive experience at senior levels in academia, government and research.

Previously Professor Maddocks was Director of Science Partnerships at the Department of Primary Industries and Regions in the South Australian Research and Development Institute, Director of the University of Adelaide’s Roseworthy Campus, and Professor of Animal Science at the University of Adelaide. Professor Maddocks has worked in the United Kingdom and the United States.

He holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Science (Hons) and a PhD from the University of Adelaide, and was the first non-medical graduate to receive the prestigious Sir Robert Menzies Memorial Scholarship in Medicine.

Other Confirmed Featured Speakers

  • Mr Nigel Browne, CEO, Larrakia Development Corp
  • Mr Mark Bennett, Head of Agribusiness and Emerging Corporate, Regional Australia, ANZ
  • Hon Michael Gunner, Chief Minister, Northern Territory Government
  • Mr Matt Canavan, Minister for Natural Resources and Northern Australia, Australian Government (pre recorded message)
  • Ms Marie Piccone, CEO, Manbulloo Mangoes
  • Dr Beth Woods, Director-General, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries (DAF) Queensland

Invited Featured Speakers

  • Hon Alannah MacTiernan, Minister for Regional Development; Agriculture and Food; Minister assisting the Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade, Western Australian Government
  • Ms Melissa Vernon, Executive Director – Innovation & Development, WA Country Health Service